Graduation photo

2020 Biology Award Recipients
Apr 30, 2020

Congratuations to our 2020 Biology Award Recipients.  [[nid:470]]Undergraduate:Bailey, Lauren E, Meritorious SeniorBrewer, Samuel B., Wayne Van D...

3MT awards

Biology Grad Students Take Honors in Three Minute Thesis competition
Nov 9, 2018

Department of Biology graduate students Gita Gajjar and Amanda Wilkinson won awards in the recent Three Minute Thesis (3MT) competition. The 3MT ...

Jessica McCanless

Jessica McCanless wins Melton Award
Nov 5, 2018

Jessica McCanless, a graduate student who works with Dr. Maryam Ahmed and Dr. Darren Seals, won the Thoyd Melton Award at this year's North Carol...

Dr. Michael Parsons

Appalachian Alumnus Studies Urban Rat Ecology
Oct 18, 2017

Appalachian alumnus Dr. Michael Parsons' ('93) unusual research caught the eye of CBS News recently. After reading the story, we were curious to know ...

Appalachian block A logo

ASU Alum Rachel Hoch Recognized for Work to Recover Endangered Species
Jun 9, 2017

Congratulations to Appstate Department of Biology Alum Rachel Hoch, who was named a US Fish and Wildlife Service 2016 Recovery Champion. Recovery Cham...

Elisabeth Panto

Biology major Elisabeth Panto receives internship at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Mar 27, 2017

Elisabeth Panto will be working for 9 weeks this summer at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL), with an initial preparatory week at the Astronomy &...

Tara Early with research poster

Environmental science major Tara Early creates prize-winning research poster, is honored by SETAC
Jan 12, 2017

Tara Early of Morehead City just graduated from Appalachian State University with a Bachelor of Science degree in environmental science. She is now ap...

Mary Rachel Silliman

Apex student Mary Rachel Silliman earns highest Sea Scouts award
Oct 27, 2016

BOONE—Mary Rachel Silliman from Apex, a senior majoring in biology in the College of Arts and Sciences at Appalachian State University, recently com...

3 minute thesis competition winners with award plaques

Laura Ellis wins People's Choice Award in 3-minute-thesis competition
Feb 9, 2016

The People's Choice Award in the annual 3-minute-thesis competition went to Laura Ellis, a graduate student in biology from Swannanoa. Ellis spoke of ...

Dr. Karatan with two students

Dr. Ece Karatan awarded NIH Grant for research on Vibro cholerae
Feb 5, 2016

Dr. Ece Karatan, an associate professor in the Department of Biology, was awarded her second NIH grant ($395,720) to investigate how Vibrio cholerae, ...